Our 3 Week Hiatus

Sometimes life gets in the way.  Actually life is sometimes life and priorities have to change.

When I set out to start Pure Family Gold, I wanted to give everyone a glimpse into the weekly lives of our family.  I wanted to share the happiness, sadness, and struggles of our family as we navigate through life and finances.  But I didn’t plan for what happened over the last three weeks.

An Annual Event
For the last 8 years, I have worked in many different capacities for nonprofit organizations.  I have enjoyed being a part of some amazing organizations really changing the community and have grown both as an individual and professionally.  For the first time in my career, I played a major role in our annual fundraising event this year.  For two weeks, my daily work activities revolved around RSVPs, seating charts, slideshows, and communication with all guests.

This was the first time that I had the opportunity to work on a wide range of activities regarding an annual fundraiser and I loved every moment of it.  However, the week of the event also became the hardest I have worked at my current position and this meant sacrificing time with my family and writing.

A Family Trip
The PFG Family traveled for a week this year in the middle of April.  We went down to Orlando, Florida for a holiday and to spend some time with Mrs. PFG’s extended family.  This week of sun and paradise (and crazy rain) was a nice break from our day-to-day activities.  PFG boy had so much fun racing down the hotel’s water slide, walking around Downtown Disney, and chasing after his many cousins.  PFG girl enjoyed playing in the water and crawling after her toys.

A Vacation from Our Vacation
While the time away from our jobs and home was much needed, as is the case most times, we came home and needed a vacation from our vacation.  PFG boy, PFG girl, and I all came down with a spring cold last week which still hasn’t gone away.  And the rest of the week seemed to disappear before our eyes.

Every once in a while, a hiatus from our day-to-day grind is necessary.  But it is also nice to get back to the things that you love.  Look for more parenting stories, personal finances, and letters to our kids as we get back into the swing of things here at Pure Family Gold.

Leave a Reply

