He said “He Misses You”

Last night as I was driving home from a board meeting for an amazing organization that I am a board member for, I called Mrs. PFG who had tried calling me during the meeting.  I asked her why she called and she said that our son wanted to say goodnight to me and that “he misses you.”

Now for all of you parents out there, you understand how much this pulls at your heartstrings.  From the first day that you get to hold your newborn to watching them laugh for the first time, you know that this creature new human will have a piece of your heart forever.  However, life gets in the way of these moments and we forget to cherish these little moments where we are “wanted” by our children.

Last night was once again a reminder to me that parenting shouldn’t take a back seat to everything else going on in my life.  Over the last two weeks, I have woken up early to get to work six days and had evening programs or meetings four nights (and another late night tonight.)  While each of these events was important in both my professional and volunteer lives, at what cost was I missing spending time with my growing family?

A little over a year and a half ago, I had decided to leave being a youth director because I was missing out on milestones in my son’s life and knew I wanted to be at home at night to read to him, give him a bath, and be with my wife.  However, now looking back, did I just replace those late nights with other people’s kids with volunteer activities?  I would say no but there is still room for growth.  I need to continue thinking about the activities I am involved in and figure out the value versus the cost to my family.

As a mentor of mine recently told me, it isn’t important the extra five minutes you spend at work each day, it is important to spend that extra five minutes with your kids.

This weekend, I look forward to catching up on the missed time I have had with my son these last two weeks.  Maybe we will even go to his favorite place… the Denver Zoo. 

Has there ever been a time in your lives where parenting has taken a back seat to an event or your job?  How do you balance family life, work life, and community life?

Leave a Reply

